A CHRISTMAS LOVE

This simple prayer I solemnly pray
That you love me again on Christmas day
Those mine sins that had you walk away
I confess, their price Christ long did pay.

So let new chances on that day be born
Which lonely hearts can jump upon
Like mine which has for long held on
because our love was that stubborn.

Neither distance nor time would kill it
It has stayed alive, each last bit,
Not even knowing how long it had to wait
But hoping Christmas brings a new chance to it.
Give me another chance to smile
and start my New Year in style.

Leave a Reply

