AN ODE TO A FRIEND

I thought I had seen it all
The sneaky ways death creeps on us
In the sudden unexpected demise
Of a loved one, fellow human being.
I thought I was ready for anything.
After all, haven’t I seen the young die,
the old and the healthy just like the ailing?
I though that making a pact with death
To let it take whatever it please,
To submit to the majesty of its will,
Would help reduce the shock and pain
Of losing ones dear to me
Apparently I was deluded –
Mourning tears all sting the same,
whether death was sudden or expected.
Again the callous visitor came calling
Brought me nothing but took another
Of those I thought I can’t live without.
 
RIP Victor B. The lessons you taught me were, and still are, invaluable.

Leave a Reply

